Just Because Cards, Sympathy Cards

Swallowtail Sympathy Card with Watercolor Emboss Resist Technique

Hello everyone! Today’s card is dominated by a bold, large butterfly with subtle watercoloring. I haven’t done much watercoloring lately, but I recently held a watercolor class and got back into it. My next few cards will feature more watercolor techniques.

This card features the emboss resist technique, which features watercoloring over an embossed image.

Watercolor Butterfly

This butterfly in these colors just really spoke “sympathy card” to me so I went with that. I first embossed the butterfly with Black Stampin’ Emboss Powder. I did the butterfly’s body in Night of Navy and then worked from the inside of the wings to the outside with Perfect Plum, Night of Navy, Island Indigo, and then Perfect Plum again.

The aquapainters worked great for this card.. I tried not to go too heavy with the water so that the cardstock wouldn’t get to soggy and rip. I dried the cardstock afterwards with the heat tool before adhering to help with warping. Just be sure to hit it from the back so you don’t overheat the embossing powder.

I hope you inspired to try your hand at some watercoloring. It will be sure to impress the card’s recipient. 🙂

Joyful stamping!

~Stephanie

*Supplies Used: Basic Black cardstock, Whisper White cardstock, Black Stampin’ Emboss Powder, Versamark Ink Pad, Heat Tool, Swallowtail Stamp Set, Crazy About You Stamp Set (sentiment), Island Indigo Classic Stampin’ pad, Perfect Plum Classic Stampin’ pad, Night of Navy Classic Stampin’ pad, Aqua Painters, Dimensionals, Snail, Paper Snips.

*All supplies available from my online store.

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.