Stampin' Up!

Something Old, Something New

When a new Stampin’ Up! catalog arrives there is always lots of excitement over the new products, as there should be. There are always so many awesome new things to create with. There is also lots of creative fun to be had by freshening up products that carried over by combining them with new ones.

IMG_4065

The Butterfly Thinlits Dies are probably my favorite die cut set that carried over into the new annual catalog. As I set about designing some cards that used sentiments from the May Paper Pumpkin stamp set, “Manly Manly Occasions”, I was inspired to combine this “old” die from the Butterfly Thinlits Die set with a new In-Color, Emerald Envy. I love the result! IMG_4057

While I love using bold colors with this butterfly die, I stepped out of my comfort zone a little bit with the rest of the colors on this card. When I am choosing a brown, I usually gravitate toward Crumb Cake, probably because I love how it can coordinate with the Crumb Cake Envelopes.  However, when I looked at the Emerald Envy butterfly I was inspired to try pariing it with Soft Suede, a little more of a bolder brown to match the bold green of the Emerald Envy. I was then inspired to tone things down a little bit by using Very Vanilla for the background, whereas I usually gravitate to the more striking Whisper White. I really had fun stepping out of the box with this card.

IMG_4056

As I mentioned above, the stamp set I used for this sentiment is from May’s Paper Pumpkin kit, “Many Manly Occasions.” As of this blog’s posting, this kit was not available for purchase. However, I think you could easily substitute sentiments from any number of sets.

I hope you are inspired to create with the Butterflies Thinlits Dies and to step outside of your comfort zone and try new things in your crafting. I’d love to see what you come up with using inspiration from this card. If you email me your creations (stephaniemackey2012@gmail.com) I just might put them in future blog posts. 🙂

Joyful stamping!

~Stephanie

Supplies**: Soft Suede Cardstock, Very Vanilla Cardstock, Emerald Envy Cardstock, Big Shot, Butterflies Thinlits Dies, Large Dots Embossing Folder, Soft Suede Classic Stampin’ Pad, Many Manly Occasions stamp set (May 2016 Paper Pumpking kit), Pearls Basic Jewels, Stampin’ Dimensionals, Glue Dots, Snail Adhesive, Paper Snips.

**All supplies are available for purchase from my Online Store. 

1 thought on “Something Old, Something New”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.