Birthday Cards, Designer Series Paper Cards, Stampin' Up!

Paper Weaving with DSP

Hello all! Here is the last card I made for the Designer Series Paper challenge from my Stampin’ Up! team leader. I was again inspired by Pinterest for the layout of this card, but changed up the DSP and coordinating colors. You can view the first two DSP cards on my two most recent blog posts, “Hello, My Friend: A Pocket Card” & DSP!

IMG_3333

I thought the weaving on this card is the coolest thing.  It reminds me of the place mats we wove out of construction paper in kindergarten. Leave me a comment if you know what I’m talking about. 🙂

Instructions: It took some experimenting to figure out an easy way to weave the DSP strips with the cardstock strips. I found my Grid Paper (see picture below) & Glue Dots to be extremely useful. I first stamped my sentiment in the corner so I knew how much space I had left to work with for the weaving. I then decided how far down the side of the card I wanted my first DSP strip to be and adhered the end in place with a glue dot. I spaced the other two DSP strips 1/4″ apart, adhering the ends with glue dots as well. At this point I switched to the cardstock strips. I wove these in first and then adhered both ends with glue dots. I also adhered the other ends of the DSP strips with glue dots. I decided to put a few more glue dots under the DSP strips to help secure them because they were so long.

grid paper

Dimensions: The card base is 8 1/2″ x 5 1/2″, scored at 4 1/4″.  The first layer is 3 3/4″ x 5″. The second layer is 3 1/2″ x 4 3/4″. The DSP strips are 3/8″ x 4 3/4″. The cardstock strips are 3/8″ x 3 1/2″. 

I hope you enjoyed this little DSP series and are inspired to make some cards with DSP as well.  🙂

While I’m thinking of it, I should let you know that my blog post frequency may slow down for awhile. My husband and I are closing on a house on Thursday, cleaning it on Friday, and then moving into it on Saturday.  My due date is the Wednesday after we move in. I will do my best to have some posts ready to go before hand so that I can keep up my blog even with all the awesome craziness of having a baby. 🙂

Joyful stamping!

~ Stephanie

1 thought on “Paper Weaving with DSP”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.